Carnism – ‘Why we love dogs, eat pigs, and wear cows’ – Melanie Joy (2012)

I purchased this book for the holidays in preparation for our upcoming @MSVA – Lifestyle Coach & Educator training in NYC – fascinating read coupled with social psych research. My challenge to everyone this year is for us to become informed/conscious consumers.

I certainly was part of the mainstream culture and had no idea about the tremendous invisibility and denial around food production. I’m obviously passionate about wellness, health, and well-being both personally and professionally which is the reason I’ve chosen to become enlightened and aware of all aspects surrounding health.

I suppose my decision to share recipes, articles and such is inspired by my wish that I would have obtained information prior to multiple family medical illnesses which I can only hope is preventable for others. Thank you to those that are open-minded and willing to explore research based resources and to @MelanieJoy (professor of psych and sociology) for this epic insight into the food industry.

I only hope to team up with @CAAN (@CarnismAwareness&ActionNetwork) and post a fundraiser page soon for our 2014 AZIronman endeavor to support this great cause – more to follow soon.

Love, light, peace to everyone in the new year.

Thank you Victoria Moran@MainStreetVeganAcademy for the opportunity and @MelanieJoy for your contribution to my training via Carnism Awareness & Action Network.

Posted on November 8, 2013, in Plant-Based Health & Fitness. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Carrots and Flowers

make art, have fun, eat plants

Heal Grow Blossom

A Blog Dedicated To All Things Good For People, The Planet and Animals

Empower to Inspire

Dr. Bittle - Holistic Plant-Based Practitioner

From the Ice to Ironman

Living a life that can't be defined in pursuit of the ultimate me!

mattsdailyrenaissance

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

